Spring is only 76 Days away.

So as one who likes to grow stuff. Just the legal kind of stuff. I grew the other kind of stuff many eons ago and my cat ate it. True story.

Anyway, those of you that have a garden know that once the first seed catalog arrives (mine came the beginning of December) it’s time to start planning what kind of stuff we want to grow. We have a postage stamp size back yard so space is very limited. However I plan to make use of the unlimited amount of space above my yard. So I’m looking forward to growing our summer squash on a trellis of sorts.

Our yard is also over run with English ivy (hate the stuff). It’s impossible to kill. BTW if anyone knows how to kill it short of napalm let me know. So since actually digging up the yard is out we were going to go with raised beds but I had another thought. We have an abundance of large plastic totes (minus the lids) that we’ve picked up so I’m thinking of just using them and do everything in containers. Before that though I need to put up a privacy fence to keep nosy county gm out of my business. Two years ago they gave me a citation for having 5 gallon buckets in my yard. I had to go to the county office and point out the sticks coming out of the buckets and inform them that the buckets were actually holding berry bushes.

Anyway the fence is at the top of my to do list as soon as I can find some free fencing on Craigslist. I love Craigslist. :o) Especially the free section. I’ll write about all the stuff we’ve gotten from there another time. Right now I have some work to do. Later.

Leave a comment